Fort Wayne Komets Home

Official Website of the Fort Wayne Komets

News Releases

Komets announce protected list

06/01/2017 1:24 PM -

Fort Wayne, IN-- The Komets announced their protected list of players Thursday as submitted to the ECHL following the 2016-17 season.

All 22 active players from the 2017 playoff roster were listed including 12 forwards, eight defensemen and two goaltenders.

The list included forwards Taylor Crunk, Mason Baptista, Mike Cazzola, Gabriel Desjardins, Mike Embach, Shawn Szydlowski, Jamie Schaafsma, Kyle Thomas, Travis Ewanyk, Brett Perlini, Trevor Cheek and Garrett Thompson.  Defensemen listed were Jason Binkley, Kyle Follmer, Curtis Leonard, Bobby Shea, Dan Milan, Will Weber, Cody Sol and Ryan Lowney.  Goaltenders Pat Nagle and Garrett Bartus were also included.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that: 

1. Signed an SPC in 2016-17 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2016-17, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2016-17 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released. 

Protected lists may exceed 20 players. 

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15. 

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2016-17.

Opening night for the 66th season of Komet Hockey is slated for Saturday, Oct. 14 in Fort Wayne against the Toledo Walleye.

Got tickets?  Single game tickets go on sale soon.  Season Tickets with Early Bird Pricing are on sale now at the Komet office at 1010 Memorial Way in Fort Wayne.  For more information visit or call 260-483-0011.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Copyright © 2017 Fort Wayne Komets. All Rights Reserved.

Created by Infinity