Fort Wayne Komets Home

Official Website of the Fort Wayne Komets

News Releases

Komets End of Season Awards announced

04/08/2018 6:14 PM -

Fort Wayne, IN ---The Komets announced their End-of-Season Player Awards Sunday following the regular season home finale against the Cincinnati Cyclones at the Memorial Coliseum.  The awards were presented as follows:

• Bud Gallmeier Memorial Trophy/Community Service Award, for community service and dedication to the game of hockey in memory of long-time Komet beat writer Bud Gallmeier. 
Winner:  Cody Sol (Second time, also in 2015-16)

• The Wiegmann Family “True Komet” Award, exemplifying team spirit and a positive attitude on and off the ice.
Winner:  Cody Sol

• The Komets Most Improved Player Award for the player showing the most improvement from the beginning of the season to the end and has been on the Komet roster since the start of the season.
Winner:  Ryan Lowney

• The Mr. Hustle Award, in honor of the memory of Cliff and Jean Fell, Jim and William Fell, and Pat Curtis, long-time Komet fans.  The award considers a player’s personal statistics (goals, assists and on-ice hits at home) and overall up-tempo style of game. 
Winner:  Dennis Kravchenko

• The Unsung Hero Award, the Komets’ 5/30 award in tribute to Komet Hall-of-Famers Robbie Irons and the late Terry Pembroke, given to the player whose hard work, dedication to his teammates and love of the game is in the true spirit of Komet legends Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke. 
Winner:  Jason Binkley

• The NOB Brick Award, for the Stonewall Defensive Forward of the season. 
Winner:  Gabriel Desjardins

• The Komet Defenseman of the Year Award for his overall play at both ends of the ice. 
Winner:  Cody Sol (Second consecutive year)

• The Komet Rookie of the Year Award. 
Winner:  Artur Tyanulin

• The Komet Most Valuable Player Award, known as the Foss Folk Memorial Trophy sponsored by the Folk family and voted on by the Komet players themselves. 
Winner:  Gabriel Desjardins

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Copyright © 2018 Fort Wayne Komets. All Rights Reserved.

Created by Infinity